2022 Conservative Grassroots Legislative Summit

To: Members of the Missouri General Assembly -- May 8, 2023

The undersigned grassroots leaders and organizations urge you to kill <u>HJR 43</u> and <u>commit to prioritizing</u>, next January, the passage of truly meaningful protections of our state Constitution.

In November of 2022, leaders from twenty-six grassroots organizations met to discuss legislative priorities for the 2023 session. The consensus was to promote HJRs and SJRs that would achieve the following goals;

- 1. Respect the right the people have "reserved" for themselves to use the petition process, "independent of the general assembly," to rein in government when it is either oppressive, or unresponsive. That position was largely informed by the many abuses of power we experienced during the pandemic and the lack of a legislative response to those abuses.
- 2. Fight the trend of deep pocket special interests profaning our Constitution with volumes of statute-like language.
- 3. Distribute the influence Missourians have to amend their Constitution beyond the urban parts of the state. That is, give rural Missourians a voice.
- 4. Ensure that bad ballot measures could be fought by engaged average citizens, without the enormous amounts of money that seems to never be available to fight deep pocketed special interests.

Those many grassroots organizations coalesced around Concurrent Majority Ratification using state House districts as the second metric. Over twenty Republican Central Committees agreed and passed resolutions supporting that idea.

We were pleased to find so many Republican members of the House and Senate who agreed.

We are upset, however, at the heavy-handed way the Speaker and Senate pro tem approached this issue. Although there were several bills dealing with IP reform or ratification reform, including a handful that used Concurrent Majority Ratification, <u>leadership forced HJR 43 on their colleagues by refusing to place the others on</u> <u>the calendar</u>, even though some were voted "do pass" in committees.

HJR 43 will not even come close to achieving the goals stated above. In fact, we believe that HJR 43 will ultimately undermine these goals not only because it includes so much bad policy, but also because <u>voters are</u> <u>likely to reject it at the polls</u> and the general assembly will fail to try again for many years.

There does not currently seem to be a path to redeem HJR 43, so we urge you to simply let it die, with a commitment to make ratification reform the top priority next January.

Respectfully, undersigned Organizations / Representative:

Missouri First, Inc. Ron Calzone	Freedom Principle MO Byron Keelin	Informed Health Choice Missouri Jennifer Ann Barker
Concerned Women for America of Missouri Stephanie Rubach Marshall	United for Principled Politics Jerry Wistrand	Teresa McBride Vice Chair Jackson County Republican Committee

Cass County Republican Central Committee Jim Pelis	Warren County Republican Committee Bev Ehlen	Chesterfield GOP Township Missouri 15th Senatorial District Ron Cawood & Judy Hon
Missouri Precinct Project/MOPP judy Sofka	We the People of Missouri Valerie Swearingen	Ballwin Chapter of the Joh Birch Society John Antone
Commit	als Who Want HJR 43 to Die and ment to Real Reforms Next Sessio	
Mitch Schubert	Karen Shafferkoetter	Peggy Gilkey
Jeanettte Woerhle	Darlene Slattery	David Kelpe
Clif Ehlen	John Wood	Jack Ortego
Dan Hampson	Monica Hepperman	Kate Sickles
April LaJune	Joe Nicola	Tim Jones Former Speaker of MO Hou Chairman, MO Center-Rigl
		Coalition
Jason Boles	Theresa Collins	Jennifer Gore Vice Chair Audrain County Republica Central Committee
Judy Sofka	Teresa McBride	Angela Romine
Brenda Allen	Lisa Pannett	John Butler
Jan Farrar	Alan Redburn	Meike Aton
Steve Lamply	Cary Wells	Jodi Widhalm
Tammy Palisch Vice Chair, Perry County Central	Frieda Keough	

Central Committees That Passed Resolutions Calling for Concurrent Majority Ratification Using State House Districts			
Warren County Republican Central	Camden County Republican	Franklin County Republican	
Committee	Central Committee	Central Committee	
Maries County Republican Central	Schuyler County Republican	St. Louis City Republican	
Committee	Central Committee	Central Committee	
St. Louis County Republican Central	Vernon County Republican	Adair County Republican	
Committee	Central Committee	Central Committee	
Knox County Republican Central	Monroe County Republican	Lewis County Republican	
Committee	Central Committee	Central Committee	
Jasper County Republican Central	Marion County Republican	Osage County Republican	
Committee	Central Committee	Central Committee	
Randolph County Republican Central	Putnam County Republican	Cass County Republican	
Committee	Central Committee	Central Committee	
Benton County Republican Central Committee			
	DeKalb County Commission		