For the vote on HJR 36 (Tax Reform) go to the 3rd page.

# **JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE**

First Regular Session, 95th General Assembly

FIFTY-SIXTH DAY, THURSDAY, APRIL 16, 2009

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Speaker Pro Tem Pratt in the Chair.

Prayer by Msgr. Donald W. Lammers.

"Sun and moon bless the Lord, praise and exalt him above all forever....
All you peoples, bless the Lord; praise and exalt him above all forever."
(Daniel 3:62 & 82)

Lord, Eternal God, we pray that, during this Assembly and throughout our work today, we might be blessed with Your presence within us and among us.

By the practice of every virtue called for by the day's agenda, may the meeting place of our work be the meeting place of Your Kingdom.

To You be glory and honor forever. Amen.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag was recited.

The Speaker appointed the following to act as Honorary Pages for the Day, to serve without compensation: Alison Crowell, Devin Walsh, John Collins, Hanna Mohesky, Scotty Villhard, Katie Reilly, Lexi Opilka and Joseph Patritti.

The Journal of the fifty-fifth day was approved as printed.

#### **SPECIAL RECOGNITION**

The Central Missouri Eagles Squirt Hockey Team was introduced by Representative Kelly and recognized for attaining the 2009 State Championship.

#### HOUSE COURTESY RESOLUTIONS OFFERED AND ISSUED

House Resolution No. 1801 through House Resolution No. 1867

# HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

Representative Corcoran offered House Concurrent Resolution No. 53. Representative Oxford, et al., offered House Concurrent Resolution No. 54.

# **HOUSE REMONSTRANCE**

Representative LeVota, et al., offered House Remonstrance No. 1.

#### **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

# Committee on Fiscal Review, Chairman Faith reporting:

- Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Fiscal Review, to which was referred **HCS HJR 32** (Fiscal Note), begs leave to report it has examined the same and recommends that it **Do Pass**.
- Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Fiscal Review, to which was referred **HCS HJR 36** (Fiscal Note), begs leave to report it has examined the same and recommends that it **Do Pass**.
- Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Fiscal Review, to which was referred **HCS HB 152** (Fiscal Note), begs leave to report it has examined the same and recommends that it **Do Pass**.
- Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Fiscal Review, to which was referred **HCS HB 553** (Fiscal Note), begs leave to report it has examined the same and recommends that it **Do Pass**.
- Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Fiscal Review, to which was referred **HB 734** (Fiscal Note), begs leave to report it has examined the same and recommends that it **Do Pass**.
- Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Fiscal Review, to which was referred **HCS HB 795** (Fiscal Note) begs leave to report it has examined the same and recommends that it **Do Pass**.
- Mr. Speaker: Your Committee on Fiscal Review, to which was referred **HB 952** (Fiscal Note), begs leave to report it has examined the same and recommends that it **Do Pass**.

### THIRD READING OF HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTIONS

HCS HJR 32, relating to funding for education, was taken up by Representative Kelly.

On motion of Representative Kelly, **HCS HJR 32** was read the third time and passed by the following vote:

AYES: 131

Allen	Atkins	Aull	Biermann	Bivins
Brandom	Bringer	Brown 50	Brown 73	Brown 149
Bruns	Burlison	Burnett	Calloway	Carter
Casey	Chappelle-Nadal	Colona	Cooper	Corcoran
Cunningham	Curls	Day	Deeken	Denison
Dieckhaus	Diehl	Dixon	Dougherty	El-Amin
Englund	Faith	Fallert	Fischer 107	Fisher 125
Flanigan	Frame	Funderburk	Gatschenberger	Grill
Grisamore	Guernsey	Guest	Harris	Hobbs
Hodges	Holsman	Hoskins 121	Hughes	Hummel
Icet	Jones 117	Kander	Kelly	Kingery

Kirkton	Komo	Kratky	Kuessner	Lair
Lampe	Largent	Leara	LeBlanc	LeVota
Liese	Lipke	Loehner	Low	McClanahan
McDonald	McGhee	McNary	McNeil	Meadows
Meiners	Molendorp	Morris	Munzlinger	Nance
Nolte	Norr	Oxford	Pace	Parkinson
Parson	Quinn	Riddle	Roorda	Rucker
Ruestman	Ruzicka	Salva	Sater	Scavuzzo
Scharnhorst	Schieffer	Schlottach	Schoemehl	Schupp
Shively	Silvey	Skaggs	Smith 14	Still
Storch	Stream	Sutherland	Swinger	Talboy
Thomson	Tilley	Todd	Tracy	Viebrock
Vogt	Wallace	Walsh	Walton Gray	Wasson
Webb	Webber	Weter	Wildberger	Wilson 130
Witte	Wright	Yaeger	Zerr	Zimmerman
Mr Speaker				
NOES: 028				

Brown 30 Cox Davis Dethrow Dugger Dusenberg Emery Ervin Flook Franz Jones 89 Koenig Kraus Nieves Keeney Pollock Schaaf Schad Pratt Sander Schoeller Self Smith 150 Wells Stevenson Wilson 119 Wood Yates

PRESENT: 000

ABSENT WITH LEAVE: 004

Hoskins 80 Jones 63 Nasheed Spreng

Speaker Pro Tem Pratt declared the bill passed.

Representative Schoeller assumed the Chair.

Scott Largent produced an attack ad that claimed Ed Emery supported a sales tax of up to 20%. Emery's tax bill (HJR 36) was actually a modest increase in the sales tax (capped at 7%) and total elimination of the income tax. The attack ad was false and deceitful.

The greatest irony of Largent's accusations is that he, himself, voted for Emery's tax reform bill in 2009. See the vote, below.

HCS HJR 36, relating to fair taxation, was taken up by Representative Emery.

Representative Smith (150) assumed the Chair.

On motion of Representative Emery, **HCS HJR 36** was read the third time and passed by the following vote:

AYES: 090

Bivins Brown 30 Allen Biermann Brandom Bruns Brown 149 Burlison Cooper CoxCunningham Davis Day Deeken Denison Diehl Dethrow Dieckhaus Dixon Dougherty Dusenberg El-Amin Ervin Dugger Emery Fisher 125 Funderburk Grill Faith Gatschenberger Grisamore Guernsey Guest Hobbs Hoskins 80 Jones 89 Jones 117 Kelly Icet Keeney Kingery Koenig Lair Komo Kraus Lipke McGhee Largent Leara Loehner

# 1087 Journal of the House

McNary	Meiners	Molendorp	Munzlinger	Nance
Nieves	Nolte	Parkinson	Parson	Pollock
Pratt	Riddle	Ruestman	Ruzicka	Sander
Sater	Schaaf	Schad	Scharnhorst	Schieffer
Schlottach	Schoeller	Self	Silvey	Smith 14
Smith 150	Stevenson	Stream	Thomson	Tilley
Tracy	Wasson	Wells	Weter	Wilson 119
Wilson 130	Wright	Yates	Zerr	Mr Speaker

NOES: 065

Brown 73 Calloway AtkinsAull Bringer Carter Casey Chappelle-Nadal Colona Corcoran Fischer 107 Curls Englund Fallert Flook Harris Hodges Holsman Hoskins 121 Frame Kirkton Hughes Hummel Kander Kratky Kuessner Lampe LeBlanc LeVota Liese McClanahan McDonald McNeil Meadows Low Morris Nasheed Norr Oxford Pace Roorda Rucker Salva Scavuzzo Quinn Schoemehl Schupp Shively Skaggs Spreng Still Storch Sutherland Swinger Talboy Todd Walsh Walton Gray Webb Vogt Webber Wildberger Witte Yaeger Zimmerman

PRESENT: 001

Wood

ABSENT WITH LEAVE: 007

Brown 50 Burnett Flanigan Franz Jones 63

Viebrock Wallace

Representative Smith (150) declared the bill passed.

#### THIRD READING OF HOUSE BILLS

HCS HB 62, relating to crime, was taken up by Representative Lipke.

On motion of Representative Lipke, **HCS HB 62** was read the third time and passed by the following vote:

AYES: 141

Allen Atkins Aull Biermann Bivins Brandom Brown 30 Brown 73 Brown 149 BrunsBurlison Calloway Carter Casey Chappelle-Nadal Cooper Corcoran Cox Cunning hamCurls Davis Day Deeken Denison Dethrow Diehl Dieckhaus Dixon Dougherty Dugger Dusenberg Emery EnglundFaith Fallert Fischer 107 Fisher 125 Flook Frame Funderburk Grill Guest Gatschenberger Grisamore Guernsey Hoskins 80 Harris Hobbs Hodges Holsman